Marching On…

So here we are, first posting at my new home. And I’ve got wonderful music as a welcome gift to you! A couple of days ago, I’ve received a promo mail from WOL Records, and they wanted me to check out an artist called Glass Pear. I did, and after watching My Ghost on YouTube and listening to Morning Light, I knew I had found something really special. The label was so kind to let me download the whole new album Streets Of Love, and it instantly captured my heart. But let’s start from the beginning:

Glass Pear is the project of Welsh singer/songwriter Yestyn Griffiths; he has already co-written a couple of songs for his sister Jem who some of you might know from her songs featured in Grey’s Anatomy, Desperate Housewives or Six Feet Under. And since one of Glass Pear‘s songs has now also been used in an episode of Grey’s Anatomy, things should really take off for him and his bandmates (one of them’s Thirteen Senses‘ guitarist/keyboardist Tom Welham, btw.). I’ve read somewhere that Glass Pear sounds like “Keane, but with balls”, and I think that this is quite right. Yestyn has a sixth sense for perfectly catchy pop-melodies, and also enough talent to wrap them into well-crafted arrangements so that they don’t turn out shallow or even boring. If you can resist the rousing beats of Vultures or Streets Of Love, you must be dead, or at least deaf! Colours and This Is Not A Dream on the other hand are beautiful indie-ballads, and when Yestyn reduces his sound to accoustics and voice (Wild Place, My Ghost or the above-mentioned Morning Light), he really proves his qualities as a singer and songwriter.

Streets Of Love is a very very fine album from start to end and should be heard by many people. I predict that it will be the one album I’ll listen to most on my coming holiday. It just has it all, and it would be a shame if you’d miss it. I got the permission to temporarily post two songs: my (so far) favourite track Vultures and the bonus track Morning Light. The tracks will be up until October 18th, and then they’ll be gone. But I hope that in the meantime, you’ll have bought the album anyway! Enjoy these great tunes, and don’t forget to check out the wonderful video for My Ghost below!

http://www.myspace.com/glasspear

Buy Streets Of Love @ CDBaby

Glass Pear – Vultures (MP3)

Glass Pear – Morning Light (MP3)

My Ghost:

2 responses to “Marching On…

  1. Pingback: This ‘N That « Music Of The Moment Reloaded

  2. Pingback: Hey There! « Music Of The Moment

Leave a Reply

