This ‘N That

I still haven’t decided what to do about Blogger. WordPress seems like an alternative, but is just too time-consuming at the moment. Plus you apparently need to have a host for your blog which I don’t have. So it looks like I’m stuck with this here for now, although I’m not that happy about it. The only thing I can do now is login each day to my account and check if the total amount of my blog-posts has changed… but that still is not the solution; even if I can then see when something has been deleted, I still don’t know what it was. A bit of a shitty situation really…

But on to what this blog really should be about: music of the moment. I was quite busy lately as I’ve started a project that I had in mind for a long time: ripping all my CDs to the computer. I’ve done this with the new ones for about 3 or four years now, but the older collection still sits comfortable in the shelfs (where it will return to after ripping, btw.!). So far, I’ve ripped 2’105 songs from 160 CDs, which gave me a total of 19.7 GB worth of music. And if you check my music-collection, you’ll see that I still have a long way to go! But once it’s done, it’s done, and I’ll be able to enjoy all the amenities of digital music (streaming to my Squeezebox and MP3-player, quick access to music for mixtapes, sharing on the internet (JUST KIDDING, BLOGGER!!!!), etc.). I know I’ll keep buying and listening to CDs, but I’m also ready to embrace the new technologies.

So due to the ripping process, I haven’t been able to listen to much new music. So I just give you an overview of the latest free (THIS TIME NOT KIDDING, BLOGGER!!!) MP3s I’ve found:

Morrissey – Maladjusted (Expanded Edition) (MP3, via InSound)
Tiny Vipers – Dreamer (MP3, via SubPop)
Jet – K.I.A. (Killed In Action) (MP3, via EMI; mail necessary, but any will do)
Magnolia Electric Co. – Josephine (MP3, via Secretly Canadian)

Leave a Reply

