Fresh Horses

I’ve prepared this little thing about a Canadian band for my return to blogging, so here we go. I’ve read about Rock Plaza Central in a forum recently, where someone mentioned it to be his album of the year. And this was in July! So of course I got curious and did a bit of research. I’ve found out that the band resides in Toronto, consists of 7 members and has already released three albums, the latest one – Are We Not Horses – in 2006. Apart from that, information about the band is rather scarce. But there’s enough music to get into Rock Plaza Central, and in my opinion, that’s the best thing to get to know the band!

If there’s any comparison that comes to my mind, it’s the following: imagine Band Of Horses with a full orchestral backup, and you’re almost there. There’s enough folk and country influences as well, and it makes a very good blend. The music might sound a bit askew at first, but you’ll soon realize that it’s just this quirkiness that makes Rock Plaza Central something special. Just listen to My Children, Be Joyful for example; you might frown at first, but once you’re into it, you’ll notice that it’s quite a great song!

It might be too late for Are We Not Horses to become best album of 2007, but it is certainly not too late to discover Rock Plaza Central. And who knows… maybe I’ll need a contender for “Best album from 2006 that I just found in 2007“!

http://www.rockplazacentral.com
http://www.myspace.com/rockplazacentral

From Are We Not Horses, 2006:
My Children, Be Joyful (MP3)
When We Go, How We Go, Part 2 (MP3)

From The World Was Hell To Us, 2005
A Town At The Bottom Of The Ocean (MP3)
The Things That Bind You (MP3)
I Hope You Live Long (MP3)

Leave a Reply

