Music For The Road

OK, by now you probably know that I’ll be spending the next two weeks on the road in Canada. I’ve already told you about two of my mixtapes, and here are some more. I didn’t take the trouble of searching for the songs on MySpace, as I don’t suppose any of you like those crappy 96Kbps-files. I’m trying to find some of them on other sources, and if I’m successful, I’ll add the links. So don’t forget to reload! Here are the mixes:

Road To The 80ies
Well, title says it all. As all of my mates and me grew up in the 80ies, I can’t leave home without a mixtape from that decade. There must be hundreds of 80ies-songs that I can’t really listen to anymore, but I don’t mind these here. What about you?

1) Aztec Camera: Somewhere In My Heart
2) Blondie: Heart Of Glass
3) Hooters: Satellite
4) Laura Branigan: Gloria
5) Romantics: Talking In Your Sleep
6) Wax: In Some Other World
7) Concrete Blonde: Joey
8) Frida: I Know There’s Something Going On
9) Fra Lippo Lippi: Shouldn’t Have To Be Like That
10) Assembly: Never Never
11) Chris Isaac: Wicked Game
12) Icehouse: Heartbreak Kid
13) Indigo Girls: I Don’t Wanna Talk About It
14) The Twins: Ballet Dancer
15) The Adventures: Send My Heart
16) Heaven 17: Temptation
17) Transvision Vamp: Landslide Of Love
18) S-Express: Theme From S-Express
19) Tomoyasu Hotei: Battle Without Honor Or Humanity

Drive!
I tried to find some classic driving songs. There are many lists scattered all over the internet, and each one has different favourites. But there are a few ones that keep showing up on every list, and I’ve marked them with a little star at the end. I guess I’ll know soon if all the other ones are worth being on this CD…

1) Chris Rea: The Road To Hell *
2) Roy Orbison: I Drove All Night *
3) Sniff’n The Tears: Drivers Seat *
4) Blue Oyster Cult: Don’t Fear The Reaper
5) Stealer’s Wheel: Stuck In The Middle With You *
6) The Commitments: Mustang Sally
7) Supertramp: Cannonball
8) Fleetwood Mac: Sky’s The Limit
9) The Stone Roses: I Am The Resurrection
10) Queen: Don’t Stop Me Now *
11) Tonic: Believe Me
12) The Cardigans: My Favourite Game *
13) Travis: Driftwood
14) Erma Franklin: Piece Of My Heart
15) Elton John: Tiny Dancer
16) Phil Collins: Take Me Home

On The Road Again
Here, I tried to find a mix between “driveable” and enjoyable songs, both from older and newer artists. My friends might know a few of them, but I’ve hidden some unknown bands here that I thought they might enjoy. Hit or miss? I don’t know… yet!

1) Green Day: Boulevard Of Broken Dreams
2) Saybia: Bend The Rules
3) Coldplay: Speed Of Sound
4) Eskobar: You Got Me
5) Lovebugs: Awaydays
6) James: Sit Down
7) Lightning Seeds: Sugar Coated Iceberg
8) Cock Robin: Thought You Were On My Side
9) Kent: Sundance Kid
10) Stereophonics: Have A Nice Day
11) Teenage Fanclub: Neil Jung
12) Collective Soul: Run
13) Feeder: Love Pollution
14) Angie Aparo: The American
15) Cast: Walkaway
16) Emmylou Harris: Red Dirt Girl
17) Calexico: Across The Wire
18) Under The Influence Of Giants: Mama’s Room
19) The Coral: Dreaming Of You
20) Red Hot Chilli Peppers: Road Trippin’

All that’s missing know is the mixtape with Canadian artists. I’ve almost finished it though, and if I find some time tomorrow, I’ll post it.

Leave a Reply

