Late Night Discoveries

Sometimes it happens that there’s a song on my harddrive for weeks before I notice how good it really is. Latest example is Roscoe by Texan band Midlake. I had the song on my playlist a few times, but it was only yesterday that it really clicked. A search on MySpace and Hypemachine resulted in more samples from their latest album The Trials of Van Occupanther, and that again resulted in another order with my CD dealer. So now I’m eagerly waiting for the album to arrive; from what the critics say, it must be a real treat. Guess I’ll know by the end of next week…

Official Site
MySpace
Roscoe (MP3)
(from The Trials Of Van Occupanther)
Head Home (MP3) (from The Trials Of Van Occupanther)
Young Bride (MP3) (from The Trials Of Van Occupanther)
Balloon Maker (MP3) (from Bamnan And Slivercork)
Kingfish Pies
(MP3) (from Bamnan And Slivercork)
Gown
(MP3) (from Milkmaid Grandarmy EP)
Excited But Not Enough
(MP3) (from Milkmaid Grandarmy EP)

Another new band that seems to get a lot of attention today is Britain’s The Feeling. They’re not ashamed of their pop influences like Supertramp, ABBA or Queen (and to be honest, I don’t see why they should be…), and from what I’ve heard so far, this could well be another fine summer album for the great outdoors. First single Sewn is at least catchy as hell despite the Nanana-chorus, and Fill My Little World sounds ok, too… I might even order this album in a weak moment!

Official Site
MySpace
Sewn (MP3)
Fill My Little World (MP3)

Leave a Reply

