Value For Money

Red Hot Chili Peppers – Stadium Arcadium

A band writes about 38 songs in about 3 years time. They release an album with 28 of those 38 songs on it. Shouldn’t that make you a bit sceptical? I mean… most bands today work longer on new albums and only manage to put out some 10 decent songs in that time. Point is that I wasn’t too sure about the quality of the Red Hot Chili Peppers‘ latest outing.

So over the weekend, both CDs were on heavy rotation, and all my reservations were proven wrong. I came to the conclusion that Stadium Arcadium does not contain one single bad song! I never thought it possible, but the Peppers manage to keep the high standard over the whole playing time. Of course there are some songs that are not as good as others, but really… I haven’t found one that I don’t like! No boring guitar solos, no standard chorus lines, no pathetic ballads… everything seems so right on both of the discs. Anthony Kiedis sings his parts to perfection, switching from sad to mad to relaxed as if it was the easiest thing to do. Flea delivers his bass lines as great as ever and proofs that he still is one of the best. But the real star on most of the songs is John Frusciante, whose influence is over-present and always refreshing. He just adds that little something that makes the Peppers so special. The boys are very lucky to have him back!

I couldn’t make out a favourite track so far. Everytime I thought I had one, the next one that came along was even better. May it be the funk of Hump De Bump, the rock of Dani California, the melancholy of If… there’s something for everyone here. I think I’ve found the album that I’ll be listening to a lot through summer (if it finally arrives!). Even if you’re not the biggest fan of the Peppers, you should get an earful of Stadium Arcadium… chances are good that you might find something here you’ll like!

http://www.myspace.com/redhotchilipeppers
Dani California (video, quite funny!)

Leave a Reply

