Sunday Discovery Tour

Have a little time to crawl through the endlessness of the www. There’s still so much to discover out there, and I hope you’ll like what I’ve found so far:

Laconic
UK band with a female singer. Was in the top-20 of UKMusicsearch‘s top unsingned bands of 2005. Very interesting sounds; on some songs, you might notice a slight country/western-feeling (the Bar Song, for example). I’d suggest you try out Alive, and if you like it, listen to the rest of the songs on their homepage.

Laconic – Alive
Laconic Official Homepage

The Upper Room
Hailing from Brighton, UK, these lads have created an instant classic with All Over This Town. Couldn’t get it out of my head for quite a while! The single will be released in February, but you can check out the video already on their myspace-site. Make sure to listen to the other songs as well, and visit the official site for more downloads. One of them bands to look out for in 2006!

The Upper Room @ Myspace (video will start playing automatically, just scroll down a bit)
The Upper Room Official Site
(if you sign up for the newsletter, you’ll get access to more downloads, including an excellent accoustic version of All Over This Town that would make Travis proud!)

Grand Union
Another one from UKMusicSearch. Creating lush pop sounds, this band will probably appeal to a wider crowd soon enough. Sounds good to me! Check out the two downloads on their site.

Grand Union Official Site

Letting Up Despite Great Faults
quite an unusual name for a band. They’re from the US of A and are mixing up accoustic sounds with synthies. Works very well. If you’re into dreamy soundscapes, you should give this band a chance! And even if that’s not your usual music preference, you should at least listen to the beautiful Maybe I’ll Hide With You!

Letting Up Despite Great Faults – Maybe I’ll Hide With You (MP3)
Letting Up Despite Great Faults – If You’re Here Today (MP3)
Letting Up Despite Great Faults Official Site
Letting Up Despite Great Faults @ Myspace

The Picture
I’ve mentioned these guys before on various occasions. Now that they are officially my MySpace-Friends ( 😀 ), and I’ve had the chance to listen to their album a few more times, I guess it’s time for some more words about this excellent new band!
I’ve found their song Blind Side a few months ago on some blog, and I immediately liked it. Unfortunately I couldn’t find any information on the net for a long time (try a google search for “The Picture” and you’ll know the problem!), but then I stumbled across their myspace-site recently, and found out that they had already released their debut CD. After listening to the songs on the Myspace-site, I knew I had to have it!
So, after all, I have to say I’m really glad that Blind Side kept me interested for that long; otherwise I would have missed a great indie-rock album! Those New Yorkers (with a little help from a Liverpudlian… 😉 ) have created some excellent tracks, and I suggest that you take some time and listen to them on their Myspace and on the official site. Don’t miss It’s Alright, Patterns and Sellout! If you like what you hear, you can order the debut CD Connect on their homepage for the bargain price of 9 U$… it’s money well spent!!!

The Picture @ Myspace
The Picture Official Homepage (so you don’t have to do the google search! 😉 )

Leave a Reply

