The First Mix Of The Year

Well, I have made it into the new year as well. Hope you all did, too!

So… today I’m letting you know about a little project that I joined at the forum I frequently visit at http://www.laut.de. It’s about a CD swap. So one of the guys there came up with the idea that we could each create a CD with some of our favourite songs, then send it to another member, then to the next and so on. Of course it didn’t take much to get me hooked on the idea! But then, choosing those songs was another thing! First I wanted to create something like a musical c.v., but there were way too much songs to do that. Then I thought about recording my favourites from the past only, but this didn’t sound right in the end. So I decided to go with a collection of songs that reflect my actual preferences. Here’s what I came up with:
(if you’re a member of Laut.de and are in that project as well and don’t want to spoil the surprise, do not read further!!!) 😉

1. Kent – 400 Slag
(because it is an excellent opener, and it reflects my love for Scandinavian music)
2. High Dials – Soul In Lust
(reflecting my interest in mostly unknown bands)
3. Youth Group – Someone Else’s Dream
(see 2)
4. Delays – Nearer Than Heaven
(because I love British music still best)
5. Teenage Fanclub – Neil Jung
(see 4)
6. Morning Runner – Gone Up In Flames
(because I’m really interested in upcoming new bands)
7. Another Sunny Day – You Should All Be Murdered
(because I like being surprised by older songs that completely went past me for a long time)
8. Spleen United – Into The Future
(because I like to hear bands that create music that doesn’t really fit in one genre only)
9. Thirteen Senses – The Salt Wound Routine
(see 4)
10. Helen Stellar – io (This Time Around)
(see 6)
11. Marillion – Out Of This World
(because I like to get lost in spherical music-landscapes)
12. Pineapple Thief – Vapour Trails
(see 11… and add a hint of ProgRock)
13. Porcupine Tree – Trains (XM2 Sessions)
(because I think that ProgRock is still the music genre with the most surprises)
14. Riverside – I Turned You Down
(see 13 and 6)
15. Mew – Comforting Sounds
(simply because it’s the best song ever, combines most of my preferences… and I’ve been raving about this song so many times in the forum that I just had to put it on the CD! 🙂 )

So, this is it. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

