Chitchat…

Helen Stellar

After watching the beautiful Elizabethtown recently at the cinema, I was (as always with movies by Cameron Crowe) fascinated by the excellent soundtrack. So it was only a question of time that it ended up in my collection. Lots of wonderful songs on there, but the one I was mostly looking forward to was the one by Helen Stellar. Io (This Time Around) was played during a wonderful scene in the movie, and I knew I had to have this song. This is such a beauty. And coming from an unsigned band that probably only insider have heard of before, it shows again that good music will get heard sooner or later. There’s a nice story here on how the band got their song on the soundtrack, and there are a few MP3s around for your listening pleasure. You can listen to Io (This Time Around) on their official homepage, and I really recommend you to do this!!! And if you like what you hear, you can buy all of their EPs on the official site, just as I did! 😉

Helen Stellar Official Website
You Glow From Within (MP3)
Panic Attack At Breakfast (MP3)
The Opening Credits (MP3)
Helen Stellar’s MySpace

iLiKETRAiNS

Morten from Hits In The Car found this new band, and I must admit that their single A Rook House For Bobby is one of the best songs I’ve heard so far this year! Together with the beautiful video, this is a piece of art on the highest level! No wonder the single is already sold out (it is available for those iTunes-freaks among you though). The other tracks you can hear on their website and on the MySpace-Site sound extremely good as well, so this really is a band to keep an eye on! Let the hype begin!!!

iLiKETRAiNS Official Website
iLiKETRAiNS MySpace
A ROOK HOUSE FOR BOBBY (MOV)
THEACCiDENT (MP3)
STAiNLESSSTEEL (MP3)

Imogen Heap

A few weeks ago, I did know nothing about this lady. Then I got to know her, but I didn’t know by then it was her. Sounds confusing? Well, a few weeks ago I’ve bought the soundtrack to Garden State and really liked the song Let Go by a band called Frou Frou. And only a few days later this song Hide And Seek came up on the Net, and it was sung by Imogen Heap, who happens to be the singer of Frou Frou. All sorted out? OK then, on with it. This song really is something special. At first I didn’t know if I should like it or not. It sounded very “Björky” to me, and to be honest, I’m a bit sceptical about the Islandic elf. But then Hide And Seek grew and grew, and now it has become a listening pleasure. After hearing some more songs on the MySpace-Site I’m really considering to buy her album. Wonderful stuff!

Imogen Heap Official Website
Imogen Heap MySpace

Leave a Reply

