Yesterday’s Diary…

So I went up to that mountain yesterday… it was terriffic!!! I’ll tell you about my day through the music; if you’re interested, you can read it, if not… well, what are you doing here anyway? 😀

6 o’ clock in the morning, and I was already on the way to the bus. I chose War Of The Wakening Phantoms from the High Dials to start the day, and it really is a pleasing experience for an early morning. Their lush and catchy pop is perfect for waking up and getting those sleepy ears going.

Next on the menu was the Stars’ Set Yourself On Fire. Here too, the catchy pop melodies are teasing those taste buds, but compared to the High Dials, it is a bit quirkier. Almost too quirkie for the magnificent scenery outside: the wonderful Lake Thun covered in the morning light, and in the back the first glimpse of the mountains! I think I need something more chilled-out next!

I decided to listen to the Doves. Haven’t heard them for a while since their latest output, Some Cities, didn’t really blow me away. So I chose The Last Broadcast, and I immediately realized why I fell in love with the band in the first place. Words for example hasn’t lost any of its compelling sparks, Pounding is still… pounding like it was on the first spin, and Caught By The River is just pure genius, as is the rest of the album. Maybe I should give Some Cities another chance sometime soon…

To the last note of Caught By The River, I finally arrived at Grindelwald, the “base” town to go up to Jungfraujoch. The perfect choice for the next album would have probably been Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots by the Flaming Lips, as me and about 40 Japanese tourists boarded the train up to the mountain. But since I don’t have the album on the player, I decided to go with Spleen United. The fabulous Electro-Rock-Mix makes for a good contrast to the magnificent and somewhat surreal surrounding. Those mountains here are really stunning, and I’m about to discover them upclose now!

After almost another 1 1/2 hour train ride I finally arrived on top of the Jungfraujoch, and for the next two hours, I didn’t need any music! The breathtaking view made me forget everything else. I couldn’t have picked a better day as the weather showed itself from the best side, there weren’t that much tourists up there (yet), and it was now easy to see why this is such a popular spot among tourists. For the first hour or so I have been on the lookouts pretty much on my own, but as it was getting towards midday, more and more people flocked in, so after sharing my lunch with some greedy jackdaws and having an expensive coffee at the coffee bar, I made my way back down, together with Mew And The Glass Handed Kites. I don’t think I have to tell you much about the album… still love it to bits! 🙂

For the rest of the descent I listened to some random Prog-Rock-Hymns. Starting with the 21-minute-epic Ocean Cloud from Marillion, I was almost half way down when the song ended. Few more followed, and after leaving Grindelwald for good, I thought that it was time for a real dose of ProgRock. So Riverside‘s second album Second Life Syndrome it was, and I’m still amazed at the sheer talent of this young band. Could this really be a contender for best album in 2005? It is too early to decide, but they’ll surely have a good outlook!

The rest of the way was a mix of some of the new songs I’ve downloaded. Unfortunately, the Kent ones didn’t work on the player, and I really was too tired to concentrate on the other songs. Seems that I do need to invest more time for checking them out…

So when I got home, I found the Best-Of from Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci in my mailbox. I’ve ordered this quite a while ago and somehow forgot about it. My first impression though is not too enthusiastic… it all sounds a bit noisy and unorganized. But maybe I was just a bit fed up with hearing music all day; they’ll get another run.

So finally, here are some pics from the top of Jungfraujoch for you to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

