This And That…

Maybe you know the strange magnetism that lives inside a CD-bargain-bin… it is impossible to just walk past them without stopping! Really!! Happened to me today, again, believe me!!!
🙂

So here’s what I’ve found:

Nik Kershaw – To Be Frank

If you’re about the same age as me, you still might know this guy. Big shot in the 80ies, underrated songwriter in the 90ies, God-knows-where in the new millenium. He made a brilliant album called 15 Minutes back in 1999, and this here was the follow-up. Don’t know a single song from it, so it was a gamble. But for the price of about 2 Euros, I surely haven’t lost much. To be honest (or frank, if you like!), I don’t think it will be a complete failure. Once I’ve listened to it, I will tell you more!

Collective Soul – Blender

I’ve always liked the college-rock from this band, and I’ve already heard some songs from this album before. They weren’t good enough to convince me though, so I gave the album a miss. And now – for only 2 Euros as well – it seems that Blender just had to join my collection! It is still waiting for its first spin in my player, so there’s nothing much to say about the quality (yet).

What else? There’s lots of new music on my MP3-player again waiting to be reviewed, on top of all 5 new songs from Sweden’s Kent. Only a few months after releasing their latest full album, they now came up with an EP. Thanks to Morten for letting me have an earful!
Plague Of Angels gave me (and you, of course!) the opportunity to listen to some Cat Power songs. I am very eager to hear what they will sound like, as I think the new single The Greatest is really good. My thoughts will follow soon!
And of course, Peter over at Coast Is Clear again provided some great stuff to discover. Only listened to that Indonesian Trip Hop from Everybody Loves Irene so far, but the rest of his suggestions will get some attention, too! Thanks, you guys, for keeping me busy! 🙂

I’m still enjoying my holidays. Tomorrow I’ll have an early start into the day as my alarm clock will go off at about 5:30 am! I will then go on a 2 1/2 hour train journey and hopefully will end up right here,

at about 3’500 metres over sea level. I’ve always wanted to go to the Jungfraujoch, and since the weather outlook for tomorrow is quite good and the Swiss National Railway has a very cheap special offer right now, I’ve decided that this is the time! And the long train ride is an excellent opportunity to listen to some music, too!

Leave a Reply

